A Tribe Called Red is on the Polaris Prize long list, Again!

A Tribe Called Red

Ottawa’s one and only “Pow-wow step” innovators, A Tribe Called Red, have once again earned themselves a spot on the Polaris Prize long list.

Their outstanding sophomore album Nation II Nation made the list, just like their first album A Tribe Called Red did. Unfortunately their self-titled album did not make it onto the Short List last year, but this is a whole new year.  They are in tough though with such other critically acclaimed bands as Hannah Georgas, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Kid Koala, Corb Lund, Metric and Tegan and Sara, just to name a few, also making the list. The complete list of the 40 nominees can be seen below.

The Polaris Music Prize is a juried award for creative artistic achievement in Canadian recorded music. This national prize honours the best Canadian full-length album of the year  and awards a cash prize to the artist or artists who created it .

Now we wait until July 16th where we go from 40 albums to 10 albums as the Short List is announced. After that the winner will be announced at the Polaris Gala  on September 23 in Toronto.

Ottawa Showbox wishes A Tribe Called Red the best of luck!

The 2013 Polaris Music Prize Long List:

A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation

Alaclair Ensemble – Les maigres blancs d’Amérique du Noir

ANCIIENTS – Heart of Oak

The Besnard Lakes – Until In Excess, Imperceptible UFO

Louis-Jean Cormier – Le Treizième Étage


Mac DeMarco – 2

Evening Hymns – Spectral Dusk

Hannah Georgas – Hannah Georgas

Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!

Chilly Gonzales – Solo Piano II

Jim Guthrie – Takes Time

Hayden – Us Alone

Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite

KEN mode – Entrench

Kid Koala – 12 bit Blues

Kobo Town – Jumbie in the Jukebox

Pierre Lapointe – Punkt

Lee Harvey Osmond – The Folk Sinner

Les soeurs Boulay – Le poids des confettis

Corb Lund – Cabin Fever

The Luyas – Animator

Majical Cloudz – Impersonator

Metric – Synthetica


Danny Michel with the Garifuna Collective – Black Birds Are Dancing Over Me

AC Newman – Shut Down The Streets

Old Man Luedecke – Tender is The Night

Lindi Ortega – Cigarettes & Truckstops

Peter Peter – Une version améliorée de la tristesse

Purity Ring – Shrines

Rah Rah – The Poet’s Dead

Rhye – Woman

Daniel Romano – Come Cry With Me

Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light

Suuns – Images du futur

Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob

Al Tuck – Stranger at the Wake

Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends On This Kiss

Young Galaxy – Ultramarine