The Souljazz Orchestra set to release new album ‘Inner Fire’ in February 2014

inner fire, soul jazz orchestra, ottawa, afrobeat, world music,

One of Ottawa’s greatest musical exports worldwide, The Souljazz Orchestra, is at it again. A few days ago on their website, the band announced that they will be releasing their eighth studio album Inner Fire early next year through Strut Records. Slated for release in February 2014, the use of analog recording technology should make this album sound even better — especially played on vinyl. This Ottawa-based world music phenomenon has had their songs heard all over the world, incorporating elements of Afrobeat, jazz, and many others into their songs. We’ll be looking to speak to some of the band members in the near future, but until then here’s what the band had to say about it:

soul jazz orchestra, strut records, world music, canada, afrobeat, ottawa

So we’ve got some big news for you… The Souljazz Orchestra is back with a brand new studio album, Inner Fire, coming out February 2014, once again on Strut Records! Recorded with analog techniques at our Ottawa studio HQ, the new set continues the Souljazz musical journey with an esoteric mix of intricate Eastern influences, Afro beats, Latin styles and Spiritual Jazz elements. We’re really excited about this one, we feel it’s the culmination of a lot of different things we’ve touched on throughout the years, with a lot of fresh new vibes added to to the mix.

Just to give you an idea, side A features ‘Kingdom Come’, an afro-jazz stomper influenced by North-East African big band sounds, ‘One Life To Live’, a haunting highlife arrangement on the importance of seizing the day, ‘As The Crow Flies’, a soaring bossa-tinged piece and ‘Black Orchid’, a bumping fusion of cinematic soul-jazz with Cuban bolero sounds. The flip starts off with the firing salsa dura party jam ‘Agoya’ before the ritual chant of ‘East Flows The River’, a spiritual jazz hymn using Eastern modes. The tempo ramps up again on‘Sommet En Sommet’, a heavy 12/8 afro-jazz piece influenced by Guinean popular music. Our percussionist Marielle Rivard then takes the lead on vocals for a fierce personal rendition of Gary Bartz NTU Troop‘s 1971 classic, ‘Celestial Blues’.

So the album comes out in February 2014, and we’ll be touring Canada in support of the release during the following month. We’ll then be heading off to Europe in March and April for a good long tour there as well, keep checking the website for official tour dates in the weeks to come!

Track Listing

01 – Initiation

02 – Kingdom Come

03 – One Life To Live

04 – As The Crow Flies

05 – Black Orchid

06 – Agoya

07 – East Flows The River

08 – Sommet En Sommet

09 – Celestial Blues

10 – Completion