Cityfolk announces preliminary lineup for 2016


Cityfolk organizers have released the first wave of artists for this year’s festival, taking place at the Lansdowne Park location on September 15 through 18. With over 50,000 attendees last year, the 2016 edition will try and build on that number and attract people from all across the region to the recently redeveloped plot of land.

Although there were no artists at the level of Van Morrison or Kendrick Lamar this time around, the selections represent a broad array of genres and musical styles. There is more to come, and the initial lineup announcement leaves lots of room for additions and is well-rounded in its own right. This years Marvest (Sept. 16-17) lineup of local artists has yet to be announced.


Earlybird pre-sale: Thursday, June 16. 10am–midnight. All festival passes available here, one day only.

Regular passes: On sale Friday, June 17. See website for details. 

Have a look at who’s confirmed so far below.

The Cityfolk 2016 Lineup

Sept. 15

    • James Bay

    • Dropkick Murphys

    • Blind Pilot

    • Lil B

    • Skinny Lister

    • Plants and Animals

Sept. 16

    • Bryson Tiller

    • Joey Bada$$

    • The Last Waltz: Music of the Band

    • Guided by Voices

    • April Verch Band

    • Breabach

    • Kweku Collins


Sept. 17

    • Vance Joy

    • The New Pornographers

    • Dan Mangan

    • Marlon Williams

    • Hat Fitz and Cara

    • Sonreal

    • John Moreland

    • Fred Penner

    • Charlotte Cardin

    • Julia Jacklin

    • Northcote

    • Basia Bulat


Sept. 18

    • X Ambassadors

    • Dean Brody

    • Lake Street Dive

    • Michael Bernard Fitzgerald

    • Vanilla Fudge

    • Julien Baker

    • Rayland Baxter

    • Fred Penner

    • Jim Bryson

    • Midnight Shine

    • Fruition

    • Darlingside